Skip to main content

Explorer: The Mystery Boxes, edited by Kazu Kibuishi, 127 pp, RL 3




Flight Explorer, Volume 1
If you have read my reviews of Kazu Kibuishi's previous works,Copper and the fantastic Amulet series, which is now up to book 4, then you may know that Kibuishi is also the editor of Flight series of graphic novels for adults that bring together amazing writers and artists in what can only be called a "short story collection" of comics, now up to volume 8. In 2008 Random House put out Flight Explorer, the kid's version of the collection and was never heard from again - until now! The superb publisher Amulet brings us what I hope is the first in a long series of graphic novels, Explorer: The Mystery Boxes, edited by Kazu Kibuishi, with stories by Kibuishi,Emily Carroll, Rad Sechrist, Raina Telegemeier, Dave Roman, Jason Caffoe, Stuart Livingston and Johane Matte.





As you might have guessed, each story involves a mysterious box and the creators bring seriously imaginative (and creepy and funny and suspenseful) takes to this idea. The seven stories As someinExplorer: The Mystery Boxes take place in the present, the past and what may be the future, on earth, in space and a few other places. There are wax dolls that come to life, wizards in sandals, guarded treasure, Japanese sprits that may also be butter thieves, glowing ghosts, frazzled aliens and a creature who offers the chance to escape a dying planet. As a whole, it is amazing to see the different directions that these storytelling artists ran in with the idea of a mystery box. As individual stories, each one feels like a complete meal, despite being told in twenty pages or less. Explorer: The Mystery Boxes is a must for fans of Kibuishi, Telegemeier and Roman. For everyone else, Explorer: The Mystery Boxes is a treat waiting to be opened!

From Jason Caffoe's THE KEEPER'S TREASURE

From Stuart Livingston and Stephanie Ramirez's THE SOLDIER'S DAUGHTER


From WHATZIT by Johane Matte and Saymone Phanekahm 

Below are graphic novels by Raina Telgemeier and Dave Roman, who contributed the story Spring Cleaning to Explorer: The Mystery Boxes.

Smile


Kazu Kibuishi's other books...


Copper

The Stonekeeper (Amulet Series #1)The Stonekeeper's Curse (Amulet Series #2)
The Cloud Searchers (Amulet Series #3)The Last Council (Amulet Series #4)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Made by Dad: 67 Blueprints for Making Cool Stuff - Projects You Can Build For (and With) Kids! by Scott Bedford

On his personal website, Scott Bedforddescribes himself as an "Award Winning Online Creative Professional" working within the advertising and design industry. What is more interesting (and applicable here) is how hisWhat I Made website came to be. While sitting in a Starbucks with his restless young sons, trying to enjoy his latte, Bedford created something out of coffee stir sticks that ended up keeping his boys entertained, finishing his coffee in peace and sparking (re-sparking, really) his creative drive and reminding him of the "enormous joy gained from making things, even simple things, and that this joy is not the complexity or quality of the finished project but in the process of making itself. On Bedford'sWhat I Made website, he even shares Six Cool Coffee Shop Crafts for Kidsthat you can try out next time you want to enjoy your coffee and your kids are making that difficult. I've shared two below - be sure to check out the website and see the rest!

Be…

POP-UP: Everything You Need to Know to Create Your Own Pop-Up Book, paper engineering by Ruth Wickings, illustrations by Frances Castle RL: All ages

POP-UP:  Everything You Need to Know to Create Your Own Pop-Up Book with paper engineering by Ruth Wickings and illustrations by Frances Castle is THE COOLEST BOOK EVER!!!  I know that I haven't dedicated much time to pop-up books here, but they have always held a special place in my heart, and the phrase "paper engineering" is a favorite of mine. Although I didn't know what it was at the time, I did go through a paper engineering phase when I was ten or so. I would sneak off to the back of the classroom during independent work periods and go to town on the construction paper and glue and make these little free-standing dioramas. A huge fan of The Muppet Show (the original), I reconstructed the all-baby orchestra from an episode, drawing and coloring each baby and his/her instrument then gluing them onto a 3D orchestra section I had crafted out of brown construction paper.  I also made a 3D version of Snidely Whiplash throwing Nell off a cliff with Dudley Do-Right wa…

How to Choose Age Appropriate Books for Advanced Readers

How to Choose Age Appropriate Books for Advanced Readers remains the most read post on my blog since I wrote it in 2012. Because of this, I have cleaned up this post, tightened the writing and added in any pertinent information that has come about since it originally ran. When I first started books4yourkids.com in August of 2008, I was scrambling for content, finding my purpose and my voice and not always doing my best writing. How to Choose Age Appropriate Books for Advanced Readers was one of the first articles I wrote and, as a bookseller and a book reviewer, and now as an elementary school librarian where I have gone from working with kids reading well beyond their grade level to kids reading well below, this philosophy remains my organizing principle and central focus when reading and recommending books to parents and children. 

In the interest of my mission and the attention this article continues to receive, I have updated and expanded this article and included a guide to using …