Skip to main content

Leroy Ninker Saddles Up: Tales from Deckawoo Drive by Kate DiCamillo, illustrated by Chris Van Dusen



Leroy Ninker Saddles up is the first in a new series of chapter books from the dynamic duo who brought us stories about a buttered-toast-loving-pet-pig from Deckawoo Drive. Fans of Kate DiCamillo and Chris Van Dusen's Mercy Watson series of beginning reader chapter books (you can read my review from 2010 here) might remember Leroy Ninker from Book 3, Mercy Watson Fights Crime, in which he was first seen stealing the toaster from the Watson's kitchen in the dark of night. While the Mercy Watson series might strike a strange note with adult reader, kids LOVE these books, in part because they are chapter books that are EASY TO READ. I write this in caps because, despite recent (brilliant) efforts by Scholastic and Simon & Schuster to bring chapter books to the shelves that are a step up from leveled readers (in content and appearnce) but not as difficult as Magic Tree House of Junie B Jones, there is still a great need for books in this range. With this new series, Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Di Camillo and Van Dusen have stepped it up a bit with a slightly higher reading level and a sleeker, smaller format. 

Leroy has his own series now and it starts off with the fulfillment of a very big dream. Leroy works at the concession stand of the Bijou Drive-In Theater, where it's his job to "pour drinks and butter popcorn and smile a very large smile." Leroy's favorite night to work is Wednsdays when the Bijou runs a Western double feature, and his favorite response to almost anything is, "Yippie-i-oh." Leroy is convinced he was meant to be a cowboy, but as his coworker, ticket taker Beatrice Leapaleoni, points out, Leroy does not have a horse. But, an ad in the paper changes all that. With dreams of a sturdy steed that he will name Tornado, Leroy walks off into the sunset to meet his destiny.



This is where Ms. Patty LeMarque and her horse Maybelline come in. Looking for a good home for her old, particular, almost toothless horse, she decides (who knows why???) that Leroy will do just fine.


The humor (and anxiety) in the book comes from Leroy's misguided but well meaning attempts to be a horse owner. Patty LeMarque gives Leroy three hard rules to follow when it comes to Maybelline and, as he stumbles his way through the day, he does his best to follow them. But things don't always work out and Leroy finds himself running through the neighborhood in the rain, in his soggy socks, trying to find his horse. Leroy Ninker Saddles ends, happily, on Deckawoo Drive where Leroy is reunited with Maybelline, sharing buttered toast with the Watsons, Frank and Stella.



Source: Review Copy

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Seeing Stick, written by Jane Yolen, illustrated by Daniela J Terrazini

The Seeing Stick is an original Chinese fairy tale written by the prolific (and prolifically award winning) Jane Yolen. First published in 1977 with illustrations by Remy Charlip (author and illustrator of the brilliantly fun picture book Fortunately and friend and muse to Brian Selznick, who asked him to pose as George Méliès while he was working on the Caldecott winning The Invention of Hugo CabretThe Seeing Stick was reissued with new illustrations by Daniela J. Terrazini in 2009. I have not seen Charlip's version, but Terrazini's is a beautiful work of art and the book itself is yet another magnificently packaged book published by Running Press, the house that brought us Steven Arntson's The Wikkeling, yet another superbly and uniquely packaged children's book with artwork by Terrazini. Interestingly, both The Wikkeling and The Seeing Stick were designed by Frances J Soo Ping Chow.

The Seeing Stick begins, "Once in the ancient walled citadel of Peking there l…

POP-UP: Everything You Need to Know to Create Your Own Pop-Up Book, paper engineering by Ruth Wickings, illustrations by Frances Castle RL: All ages

POP-UP:  Everything You Need to Know to Create Your Own Pop-Up Book with paper engineering by Ruth Wickings and illustrations by Frances Castle is THE COOLEST BOOK EVER!!!  I know that I haven't dedicated much time to pop-up books here, but they have always held a special place in my heart, and the phrase "paper engineering" is a favorite of mine. Although I didn't know what it was at the time, I did go through a paper engineering phase when I was ten or so. I would sneak off to the back of the classroom during independent work periods and go to town on the construction paper and glue and make these little free-standing dioramas. A huge fan of The Muppet Show (the original), I reconstructed the all-baby orchestra from an episode, drawing and coloring each baby and his/her instrument then gluing them onto a 3D orchestra section I had crafted out of brown construction paper.  I also made a 3D version of Snidely Whiplash throwing Nell off a cliff with Dudley Do-Right wa…

Made by Dad: 67 Blueprints for Making Cool Stuff - Projects You Can Build For (and With) Kids! by Scott Bedford

On his personal website, Scott Bedforddescribes himself as an "Award Winning Online Creative Professional" working within the advertising and design industry. What is more interesting (and applicable here) is how hisWhat I Made website came to be. While sitting in a Starbucks with his restless young sons, trying to enjoy his latte, Bedford created something out of coffee stir sticks that ended up keeping his boys entertained, finishing his coffee in peace and sparking (re-sparking, really) his creative drive and reminding him of the "enormous joy gained from making things, even simple things, and that this joy is not the complexity or quality of the finished project but in the process of making itself. On Bedford'sWhat I Made website, he even shares Six Cool Coffee Shop Crafts for Kidsthat you can try out next time you want to enjoy your coffee and your kids are making that difficult. I've shared two below - be sure to check out the website and see the rest!

Be…