ALA Awards for 2012 - Newbery and Caldecott Winners and More

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos

Newbery Honor Winners:

Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

Breaking Stalin's Nose By Eugene Yelchin

A Ball for Daisy 
Written and illustrated by Chris Raschka

Caldecott Honor Winners

Blackout written and illustrated by John Rocco

Grandpa Green written and illustrated by Lane Smith 

Me . . . Jane written and illustrated by Patrick McDonnell

This award is given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.


Tales for Very Picky Eaters by Josh Schneider


I Broke My Trunk by Mo Willems

I Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

See Me Run by Paul Meisel

recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.

Coretta Scott King Author Book Award Winner: 

Heart and Soul by Kadir Nelson

Author Honors: 
The Great Migration: Journey to the North by Eloise Greenfield 

Never Forgotten by Patricia C McKissak 

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Book Award Winner:

Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom 
by Shane Evans

Illustrator Honor:

Heart and Soul by Kadir Nelson

Ashley Bryan 

In 1962 Bryan was first African American to write and illustrate a children's book.

for a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms and celebrates the Latino cultural experience with an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall

Illustration Winner: 
Diego Rivera: His World and Ours by Duncan Tonatiuh

Diego Rivera

honors an author as well as a specific body or his/her work that has proven popular over a period of time.  It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society and the world.

2012 Winner: Susan Cooper

William C. Morris Debut YA Award image

William C Morris Award

honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Where Things Come Back John Coery Whaley

Girl of Fire Thorns by Rae Carson

Paper Covers Rock by Jenny Hubbard

Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia Mccall

Between Shades of Gray by Rutya Sepetys

is given to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in Young Adult Literature.

Where Things Come Back John Coery Whaley


Why We We Broke Up by Daniel Handler with illustrations by Maira Kalman

The Returning by Christine Hinwood

Jasper Jones by Craig SIlvey

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefavter

The Scorpio Races

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal image

The Sibert Award honors the most distinguished informational book published in English in the preceding year for its significant contribution to children’s literature.

Balloons Over Broadway written and illustrated by Melissa Sweet

Black & White: The Confrontation between Revernd Fred L. Shuttlesworth and Eugene "Bull" Connor by Larry Dane Brimmer

Drawing from Memory written and illustrated by Alan Say

The Elephant Scientist written by Caitlin O'Connell and Donna M Jackson 

Witches! The Absolutey True Tale of Disaster in Salem 
written and illustrated by Rosalyn Schanzer

recognizes originally published in a Language other than English.


Soldier Bear 
written by Bibi Dumon Tak, illustrated by Philip Hopman, 
translated by Laura Watkinson

The Lily Pond by Annika Thor, translated by Linda Schneck

Stonewall Book Awards image
The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award and theStonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered experience.

Putting Makeup on a Fat Boy by Bill Wright

Putting Makeup on the Fat Boy

Stonewall Honor Books:

a + e 4ever by Ilike Merey
A+E 4ever

Money Boy by Paul Yee

Money Boy

Pink by Lili Wilkinson


with or without you by Brian Farrey
With or Without You

Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production image

This annual award will be given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Rotters by Daniel Kraus
Narrated by Kirby Heyborn


Ghetto Cowboy by G Neri, narrated by JD Jackson

Ghetto Cowboy

Okay for Now by Gary D Schmidt, narrated by Lincoln Hoppe

Okay for Now

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefavter, 
narrated by Steve West and Fiona Hardingham
The Scorpio Races

Young Fredle by Cynthia Voigt, narrated by Wendy Carter

Young Fredle

Popular posts from this blog

Fox + Chick: The Sleepover and Other Stories by Sergio Ruzzier

Be a Tree! by Maria Gianferrari illustrated by Felicita Sala

Reading Levels: A Quick Guide to Determining if a Book Is Right for Your Reader